Curriculum Committee Membership

The regular meeting of the Curriculum Committee occurs on the 2nd & 4th Friday of each month from 1:00-3:00 pm during the Fall & Spring Semesters (except holidays, school closures, etc.). Meetings are held in the Boardroom (SS202) at the Eureka Campus, with the availability for proposal authors to call in from other locations.

Constituency Group/Role
George Potamianos Committee Chair 2022-2024
Daniel Chick English 2022-2024
Chris Lancaster Humanities 2022-
Angela Stewart Social Science 2022-2024
Jonothan Pace Math 2020-2022
Erik Kramer Science 2022-2024
Gary Sokolow Health & Safety Occupations 2022-
Jennifer Burlison Student Services 2022-
Mike Peterson Applied Technology 2022-
Ashley Knowlton Alt. Instructional Methodologies 2020-2022
Nicole Bryant-Lescher Articulation Officer (non-voting) Ongoing
Jonothan Pace Assessment Liaison (non-voting) As needed
Kerry Mayer Chief Instruction Officer (non-voting) Ongoing
Leigh Dooley Distance Education Administrator Ongoing
  Student Representative Vacant
Tatiana Robinson Curriculum Specialist (non-voting) Ongoing

Academic Senate Bylaws

Article II, Section 3. Curriculum Committee
A. Membership:
Terms of each faculty member, including the chair, shall be two years with staggered terms expiring July 1. The Committee shall consist of the following members:
  1. The chair appointed from the Committee's members past or present by the President and confirmed by the Senate;
  2. One faculty member from each Division as defined in the Constitution of the Academic Senate, Article IV, Section2, selected by the division. If a division chooses not to fill the position, the Curriculum Committee chair may appoint a faculty member from any division to fill that vacancy. With the exception of the chair, no division shall have more than two representatives; and.
  3. One faculty member with current knowledge of the regulatory requirements governing Alternative Instructional Methodologies, especially those regarding Distance and Correspondence Education separate course approval (Title 5, sections 55206 and 55263) to be appointed by the Curriculum Committee chair and confirmed by the Senate; and.
  4. The Curriculum Specialist, who shall serve as a non-voting member; and.
  5. The College Articulation Officer (AO), who shall serve as a regular, voting member if the AO is a faculty member; if the AO is not faculty, then the AO shall be a non-voting, ex officio member; and
  6. The Chief Instructional Officer (CIO) or designee, who shall serve as a non-voting ex officio member; and
  7. The Distance Education Administrator, who shall serve as a non-voting, ex officio member; and
  8. The Assessment Committee chair, who shall serve as a non-voting , ex officio member unless that person already serves as a regular voting Curriculum Committee member; and
  9. A student representative who shall serve as a non-voting liaison to the Curriculum Committee to be appointed in accordance with District policies or procedures. 
  10. The Curriculum Committee chair may request a MIS Admissions and Records representative, who shall serve as a non-voting, ex officio member. 
B. Duties and Purposes:
The Curriculum Committee is concerned with the development of and continual improvement of educational programs and the curriculum. The major functions of the Committee are the following:
  1. To make recommendations to the Senate regarding additions, modifications, or deletions to the curriculum;
  2. To advise the Senate and the administration on issues related to curriculum and educational programs;
  3. To maintain an on-going evaluation of the college curriculum;
  4. To assist in the development and long-range planning of the overall educational program of the college; and
  5. To advise faculty who are developing groupings of classes into cohorts or other linked units.
  6. The specific functions of the Curriculum Committee are to act on the following proposals:
    1. Creation, modification or deletions of programs, courses, or certificates;
    2. Revision of catalog description to reflect changes in the nature of a course;
    3. Changes in hours and/or units of a course;
    4. Changes in the requirements of an existing certificate or degree program;
    5. Changes in prerequisites, corequisites, and recommended preparation;
    6. Assignment of courses to disciplines; and
    7. Significant changes in the course outline related to grading standards, method of evaluation, or instructional materials.
Curriculum Committee revised 11/08/13; Approved by Senate 11/15/13
Curriculum Committee revised 05/05/14; Approved by Senate 05/02/14
Curriculum Committee reviewed October, 2015 
Curriculum Committee Revised 02/03/20; Approved by Senate 02/07/20 
Curriculum Committee Revised 04/08/22; Approved by Senate Executive 05/13/22




Math, Science, Behavioral & Social Sciences


  • Eureka Main Campus
  • 7351 Tompkins Hill Rd
  • Eureka, CA 95501
  • 707-476-4100