Senate Executive Committee Bylaws

Membership: Four Senate members of the Executive Committee shall be nominated by the President and Vice President-and confirmed by the Senate no later than the second regular meeting in the fall. In cases when changes in Bylaws occur members may remain on the Senate Executive Committee until the end of their terms.

The Committee shall consist of the following members:

1. The-Senate President, Past President, and Vice President; and

2. Four Senators, each from different divisions as defined by Article IV, section 2, of the Constitution.

- i. After Senators are elected following the Senate Constitution, these members shall be appointed by the President and announced to the Senate.
- ii. Shall serve a term of one year.
- 3. One parliamentarian nominated by the President and confirmed by the Senate.

i The past Senate President may also serve as parliamentarian.

- B. Duties and Purposes:
 - 1. To assist the President in coordinating Senate activities and generating agendas for the full Senate;
 - 2. To support the President by making recommendations regarding faculty and associate faculty to be appointed to committees and task forces, as needed;
 - 3. To make recommendations to the full Senate regarding Senate business;
 - 4. To assume other duties as designated from time to time by the Senate;
 - 5. May nominate one of its members or a former Senate member who is tenured to be Senate Vice-President according to the procedures outlined in this section, and
 - 6. To make decisions on behalf of the full Senate at times other than the fall and spring semesters subject to the following:

7. The Executive Committee must inform the Senate of any decisions at the next scheduled Senate meeting.

ii. The Senate may override any Executive Committee decisions.

iii. The power of the Executive Committee in this capacity is intended to be a limited power exercised only when the Senate is not in session.

Approved by the Senate 11/3/2023